Evolutionary Biology at
Rutgers University

FACULTY

AND POSTDOCS

 

Robert J. Blumenschine

E-mail: rjb@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/blumenschine.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: Paleoanthropology, taphonomy, zooarchaeology

 

William Michael Brown

E-mail: wmbrown@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: www.rci.rutgers.edu/~wmbrown

Department, campus: Depts. of Anthropology and Psychology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: Evolutionary psychology, behavioral ecology

 

Susan Cachel

E-mail: cachel@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/cachel.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: Physical anthropology, primate evolution, morphology

 

Chi-hua Chiu

E-mail: chiu@biology.rutgers.edu

Home page:  http://lifesci.rutgers.edu/~molbiosci/Professors/chiu.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Genetics, Busch Campus & Dept. of Anthropology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: Evolutionary and developmental biology (evo-devo), evolution of Hox genes in ray-finned fishes, evolutionary genetics of primates

 

Lee Cronk

E-mail: lcronk@anthropology.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/cronk.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, Douglass Campus

Key research areas: Human evolutionary ecology, human behavioral ecology

 

Craig Feibel

E-mail: feibel@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/feibel.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: stratigraphy, sedimentology, paleoenvironments, geoarchaeology, environmental geology

 

Robin Fox

E-mail:

Home page: http://www.robinfoxbooks.com/

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, Douglass Campus

Key research areas: Kinship and marriage, evolution of behavior, social theory; North America, northwestern Europe

 

John W K Harris

E-mail: jwharris@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/harris.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, Douglass Campus

Key research areas: Paleoanthropology, old world prehistory, lithic analysis, archeological method and theory; Africa

 

Ryne A. Palombit

E-mail: palombit@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~palombit/

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology & Center for Human Evolutionary Studies, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: animal behavior, primate behavioral ecology, sexual
selection

 

Carmel Schrire

E-mail: cschrire@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/schrire.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, Douglass Campus

Key research areas: Prehistory, historical archeology, human ecology, hunter-gatherers; Australia, South Africa

 

Warren Shapiro

E-mail: WS1369@aol.com

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/shapiro.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, Douglass campus

Key research areas: anthropology and social theory, kinship, anthropology of religion the ethnographic study of human nature; Aboriginal Australia, Lowland South America

 

Lionel Tiger

E-mail: ltiger@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/tiger/index.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, Douglass Campus

Key research areas: Political structures, sex roles, ethology, biology of human behavior, kibbutzim; Israel

 

Robert Trivers

E-mail: trivers@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://anthro.rutgers.edu/faculty/trivers.shtml

Department, campus: Dept. of Anthropology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: social evolution, natural selection and social theory, evolution of selfish genetic elements

 

Kathleen M. Scott

E-mail: scott@biology.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://lifesci.rutgers.edu/~cbn/cbn/Faculty%20Pages/scott_res.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Cell Biology and Neuroscience, Busch Campus

Key research areas: functional morphology, paleoecology of ungulates, mammalian evolution

Nina Fefferman

E-mail: fefferman@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page:

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: mathematics in biology, evolutionary networks, diseases, social insects

 

Edwin J. Green

E-mail: green@crssa.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://deathstar.rutgers.edu/people/egreen/egreen.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: Forest ecology, quantitative methods

 

Steven Handel

E-mail: handel@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~deenr/SNH.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: population ecology and genetics, plant-animal interactions, microevolutionary changes in plant populations

 

Henry B. John-Alder

E-mail: henry@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://animalsciences.rutgers.edu/faculty/john-alder/henry-john-alder.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: ecological physiology and endocrinology, herpetology

 

Rebecca Jordan

E-mail: jordan@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~rcjordan/

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: speciation and sexual selection in cichlids, fish ecology and evolution, animal behavior

 

Karl Kjer

E-mail: kjer@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~insects/kjer.htm

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: Phylogeny of the Trichoptera, molecular phylogenetics

 

Peter Smouse

E-mail: smouse@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~deenr/PES.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources, Cook Campus

Key research areas: population genetics, ecological genetics, mathematical ecology

 

Lena Struwe

E-mail: struwe@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~struwe/

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources/ Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology, Cook Campus.

Key research areas: systematic botany, molecular and morphological systematics, phylogenetic reconstruction, historical biogeography, angiosperm evolution

 

Frank L. Carle

E-mail: carle@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://rci.rutgers.edu/~carle/

Department, campus: Dept. of Entomology, Cook Campus

Key research areas: systematics of aquatic insects, biomonitoring, dragonflies

 

Dina Fonseca

E-mail:

Home page:

Department, campus: Dept. of Entomology, Cook Campus

Key research areas: Mosquito evolution, West Nile virus

 

Mike May

E-mail: mimay@rci.rutgers.edu  

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~insects/may.htm

Department, campus: Dept. of Entomology, Cook Campus

Key research areas: Physiological and behavioral ecology of insects

 

Jerome J. Kukor

E-mail: kukor@aesop.rutgers.edu  

Home page: http://aesop.rutgers.edu/~kukorlab/

Department, campus: Dept. of Environmental Sciences, and Biotechnology Center for Agriculture and the Environment, Cook Campus

Key research areas: Metabolic biochemistry of prokaryotes; biodegradation and bioremediation; environmental signal transduction; evolution of catabolic pathways; directed evolution of metabolism

 

Chi-hua Chiu

E-mail: chiu@biology.rutgers.edu

Home page:  http://lifesci.rutgers.edu/~molbiosci/Professors/chiu.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Genetics, Busch Campus & Dept. of Anthropology, College Avenue Campus

Key research areas: Evolutionary and developmental biology (evo-devo), evolution of Hox genes in ray-finned fishes, evolutionary genetics of primates

 

Jody Hey

E-mail: hey@biology.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://lifesci.rutgers.edu/~heylab/index.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Genetics, Busch Campus

Key research areas: theoretical and empirical evolutionary genetics

 

Marie-Pierre Aubry

E-mail: aubry@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://geology.rutgers.edu/aubry.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Geological Sciences

Key research areas: biostratigraphy, calcareous nannoplankton evolution, geological time and the stratigraphic record

 

Paul Falkowski

E-mail: falko@marine.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://marine.rutgers.edu/faculty_pfalkowski.html

Department, campus: Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Cook Campus/ Dept. of Geological Sciences

Key research areas: biogeochemical cycles, evolution, astrobiology

 

George R. McGhee

E-mail: mcghee@rci.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://geology.rutgers.edu/mcghee.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Geological Sciences

Key research areas: evolutionary theory, mass extinction, community paleoecology and evolution, functional and theoretical morphology, paleozoic stratigraphy

 

Paul Falkowski

E-mail: falko@marine.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://marine.rutgers.edu/faculty_pfalkowski.html

Department, campus: Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Cook Campus/ Dept. of Geological Sciences

Key research areas: biogeochemical cycles, evolution, astrobiology

 

Judith P. Grassle

E-mail: jgrassle@imcs.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://marine.rutgers.edu/faculty/jgrassle.htm

Department, campus: Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Cook Campus

Key research areas: marine invertebrate ecology, population genetics

 

Richard A. Lutz

E-mail: rlutz@marine.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://marine.rutgers.edu/faculty_rlutz.html

Department, campus: Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Cook Campus

Key research areas: marine ecology and paleoecology, shellfish ecology, deep-sea ecology

 

Colomban de Vargas

E-mail: vargas@imcs.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://marine.rutgers.edu/faculty_cdevargas.html

Department, campus: Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Cook Campus

Key research areas:

Molecular Ecology and Evolution
of Open Ocean Plankton - MEEOOP
Institute of Marine and Coastal Sciences

 

Constantino Vetriani

E-mail: vetriani@marine.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.marine.rutgers.edu/deep-seamicrobiology/

Department, campus: Institute for Marine and Coastal Sciences, Cook Campus

Key research areas: physiology, ecology and evolutionary relationships of
deep-sea prokaryotes

 

Stephen P. Stich

E-mail: stich@ruccs.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~stich/

Department, campus: Department of Philosophy & Center for Cognitive Science, Douglass Campus

Key research areas: Evolutionary psychology, gene-culture co-evolution, moral psychology, philosophy of biology

Web Site of the Research Group on Evolution & Higher Cognition: http://ruccs.rutgers.edu/ArchiveFolder/Research%20Group/research.html

 

Bradley I. Hillman

E-mail: hillman@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://aesop.rutgers.edu/~plantbiopath/faculty/hillman/hillman.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology, Cook Campus

Key research areas: plant and fungal molecular virology, fungal molecular biology, evolution of viruses and filamentous fungi

 

James White

E-mail: jwhite@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://aesop.rutgers.edu/~plantbiopath/faculty/white/white.html

Department, campus: Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology, Cook Campus

Key research areas: fungal systematics, ecology of fungi, fungal-plant symbioses

 

Lena Struwe

E-mail: struwe@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page: http://www.rci.rutgers.edu/~struwe/

Department, campus: Dept. of Ecology, Evolution, and Natural Resources/ Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology, Cook Campus.

Key research areas: systematic botany, molecular and morphological systematics, phylogenetic reconstruction, historical biogeography, angiosperm evolution

 

Ning Zhang

E-mail: zhang@aesop.rutgers.edu

Home page:

Department, campus:  Dept. of Plant Biology and Pathology, Cook Campus. Dept of Microbiology.

Key research areas: fungal phylogeny, pathogen evolution, turfgrass fungal pathogens

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________